How do i start making my own arrangements for basically any song i hear in finger style? I know people do this by ear, but does knowing music theory help or is it just by ear? Been playing guitar for about a year and I have mostly been using tabs which has been boring these last few days. I want to start arranging my own songs and have been thinking about learning theory. I have done some searching but no where does it tell me how theory is used to arrange a song so please help. Any advice is appreciated.

I'm thinking about getting: Building Guitar Arrangements from the Ground Up by Muriel Anderson. Anyone know if ill be able to understand it or will i need some background in music theory?
Last edited by Darkn3ss99 at Mar 2, 2014,
Very simply put (as I'm by no means an expert) I just find the basic chords which are going on in the background. You then need to be able to move those chords up and down the neck to different positions depending on the melody. Music theory isn't really necessary, you just need to understand how to build chords in different positions, or at least be very familiar with chords shapes all up and down the neck.

i.e. If you want to play a note from the melody line up on the 7th fret, there's no point using an open chord shape.

A song which I learned very early on which helped me understand the logistics moving the fingers around to produce an independent melody line is Tommy Emmanuel's 'Blue Moon'. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0IY3Ax2PkY

I learned a very basic version of that, just the basic chords with the melody line. I'm not saying you have to learn that song- any simple fingerpicking song with an independent melody would work fine.

This will help you get started and once you have the basics down you'll find it much easier to progress. Once you understand how you move through chords while continuing a melody, it will become a lot more natural to you.
Read these.