Hey guys

First time poster but I've been wandering around here for a while now!

I recently started my first building project as I've just ventured into the world of amp heads and cabinets. I decided to build my own cab for a head I just bought pretty cheap. It's a Crate Flexwave 120h, not a great amp but it introduced me to heads nonetheless! I'm a student product designer so I thought it wouldn't be a tough challenge, just something I could have a little fun with.

So I've just finished planning out what I'm hoping to achieve and my aim is something like this:

I'll be posting regular updates and I'll be happy to answer any questions and see any other similar work you might like to share!
Last edited by AxemanRob at Mar 3, 2014,
So I've started the construction process. I had this ¾" plywood at home which I will be using

I followed some drawings I quickly made up in CAD to make sure everything lined up. I used a table saw to cut out all the rectangular sections. For the holes in the baffle wall I traced around a dinner plate as it was a good fit. Then i drilled a hole big enough to fit a jigsaw blade through and cut out the circles. I cut out a ¾" strip of plywood and nailed it to the edges of the sides, top and bottom. This was mainly to have something to screw the baffle wall on to and it also made the cab look thicker, Marshall style

After the parts were cut out they looked like this:

And now to assemble it all together!
Quote by Dimarzio45
Cool stuff! What kind of speakers are you going to install?

Thanks man, I'm thinking Celestion Vintage 30's would suit my style reasonably well!
So after a busy evening of building and a lot sanding I've built the structure! I used wood glue on the edges and screwed them together. If you're filleting the corners be sure to have the screws slightly away from the area you're rounding off. I drilled mine at a slight angle to achieve the best hold. Here's how she's looking so far:

More to follow very soon..!