I have been playing guitar (electric) for about 7 years now, but I think it would be a good idea to get some grades under my belt. When I started learning guitar I got up to grade 2, but I stopped cus it was boring and wasn't teaching me anything. Now I have a fairly good understanding of music theory and can play some technically hard pieces. I want to do at least grade 6 (well I looked at the old grade songs (before 2012) and I could probably play even some of the grade 8 stuff)). My music theory as I said before is fairly decent, just right now I am working on reading music properly as before I had site read the tab and used the rhythm from the sheet music above, though now I can almost site read the top. What do people think, should I just get a grade 8 book and work up to it or go for grade 6 or 7 now? I'm currently doing GCSE's, but I relize grades do add a lot of UCAS points. Finally does anyone know where I can get hold of/look at the scores for the current(2012 and onward) songs on the syllabus for grade 6,7 and 8. Because that way I may be able to make a better decision rather than buying say grade 8 that after looking at the music I know I definitely wont be able to play.

Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks