To all you technique pros out there could you tell me how you increased your tremolo picking speed?

I've been playing for 4 years and a half and it seems like I still just cannot increase my picking hand speed for the life of me.

I'm getting discouraged because even when I practice slow I just do not get faster. I do not know what it is but it's been this way for the past 3years.

I always try to make small, relaxed, efficient movements but it just seems like fast playing is impossible.
Fast tremolo picking and fast alternate are two different beasts, which did you mean to increase?
2013 Ibanez Jem 7vwh
Lakewood Sungha Jung Signature
Fender Custom Shop Stratocaster
LTD Deluxe MH-1000NT
MIA Fender Strat VG + MiJ Mustang
Martin D1 +Tayor 210e
Kremona Rondo TL Classical
Gretsch G5120
For alternate focus on using your wrist and keeping the thumb relaxed and arm still. Also try smaller, stiffer picks. Obviously start slower then speed up. Checkout pebbler brown on YouTube, he has really good videos on picking and taught buckethead.
2013 Ibanez Jem 7vwh
Lakewood Sungha Jung Signature
Fender Custom Shop Stratocaster
LTD Deluxe MH-1000NT
MIA Fender Strat VG + MiJ Mustang
Martin D1 +Tayor 210e
Kremona Rondo TL Classical
Gretsch G5120
Tremolo picking doesn't just mean fast. You can trem pick slowly. It just means playing all the 8ths/16ths/32nds for the duration of a given note.

If you have a melody that's all whole notes, you tremolo pick anytime you play 8ths or 16ths continuously for that entire whole note.

The stiff armed "technique" you hear referred to as tremolo picking isn't a technique. It's a complete lack of technique, and it's basically what you do if you're simply not able to play at the speed required. You have virtually no control at that point, much less are able to play with the rhythmic consistency demanded of high tempo music.

Work on your alternate picking with a metronome, every day, and you'll see improvement with time.