Music is my life. Literally. I devote my entire time to listening and creating music when I am not at school or doing school work. I have been playing the guitar for about 4 years now (started when I was 13) and I would say I am a pretty average guitarist or thereabouts, but I love creating tracks and would love to try and "make it". I was wondering if you guys could take a look at a set I created entitled "Dear, Reddit", because I originally posted this on Reddit.

I have little knowledge of music theory and make up riffs/chords on the spot by experimenting with what sounds good together. This approach has worked so far, but I understand that I need to learn theory in order to develop my songwriting when I am older.

The set can be found here: https://soundcloud.com/dwigt/sets/dear-reddit

The song titles are based on lyrics (or ideas for lyrics) that I have been trying to work on. The songs were recorded on GarageBand which I am no expert in, so some of the tracks' quality suffers, such as the ending to "SUPERMODEL?" which I made a bit of mess of regards to the outro abruptly starting due to a bit of a botched paste job.

I am asking for your honest opinion. Do I have any ability as a musician/songwriter? I know these tracks are just skeletons of potential songs but that's all I can offer to demonstrate my 'expertise' at this moment in time.

Be brutally honest. Constructive critcism is openly welcomed. But if you think it's shit please elaborate

Thanks for taking the time to read this and listening.

*IF YOU ONLY HAVE TIME TO LISTEN TO ONE TRACK MAKE IT EITHER SUPERMODEL? OR FIN. NOW & THEN IS A VERY BARE BONES/BASIC TRACK I HAVE COME UP WITH ONLY RECENTLY*

-gg
Brutal honesty it is then.