Hello,

I've been planning to do a fret job, neck scallop and refinishing of my guitar to make it "my" guitar.

1.Fret job is because my guitars frets are basically flat from playing 5+ hours a day.

2.Scalloping is because I want more control over my bends/ vibrato.

3.A paint job because I want it to look more "80's" than the flat black it has on now.

I just wanted to know:

What are the materials necessary for the task?
How long would it take, assuming I don't mess up?(ball park figure, days, weeks, months)
Are there any alternative materials that I can use in case I can't get the recommended materials?
What is wet sanding and all it's variations(wet sanding, dry sanding, wet/dry sanding)?
What order should I go about these things(1,2,3)(2,1,3)?
Will my guitar need intonation after these changes?( I can do a full set up, except intonation)

Random somewhat related info:

I have little to no woodworking experience. I can do basic stuff.
I have no tools other than pliers, a hack saw, allen keys, random screwdrivers and a couple of G clamps.
I need to know the exact materials because I don't want to overshoot my budget
(~$50) on needless crap.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. Colour recommendations/ schemes are appreciated. I was thinking of going neon green with all black hardware.
look up Sully's Guitar Garage on youtube he has some great refinishing videos, fret level/crowning.

You will need to find out the radius of the fretboard and then get one of the correct radius blocks from www.stewmac.com (they run $10ish for a wooden one). You will also want a small file to use on the frets.

Scalloping is really easy, use a wood file and go slow so you do not get uneven areas in the scallop.

I can not tell you how long it will take. You may get the frets and scalloping done in a few hours, or it may take you weeks of piddling on it. Painting will take the most time. Watch Sully's guitar garage and he can explain this better than me and give you visual references also.