Hi,

So I'm looking for a cheap bass rig for home recording. I'm a guitarist, so I know very little about basses and bass amps. I'm looking for a basic rock bass, that can do a little bit of everything. Price should be low, I don't want to pay more than 300€ for both. I live in Finland, and I'll probably be buying used.

I'm not even sure if I'll get anything half decent with 300, so if you think I'll only get rubbish with that, feel free to suggest something a bit steeper.

Style-wise, I'm not a big fan of precision-, or jazz- type basses.
If you're just recording, you don;t need an amp. Buy a USB soundcard/DI.

As for a bass, if you don't want a Fender style then look at Ibanez or Yamaha. They're both know for good quality at low prices plus their cheapest models are easily upgraded.

I'd reccomend a GSR 200. It's not a Fender and you can eventually get some really great upgrades for it.
Quote by Spaz91
If you're just recording, you don;t need an amp. Buy a USB soundcard/DI.

As for a bass, if you don't want a Fender style then look at Ibanez or Yamaha. They're both know for good quality at low prices plus their cheapest models are easily upgraded.

I'd reccomend a GSR 200. It's not a Fender and you can eventually get some really great upgrades for it.

Right now I'm using a zoom h3n recorder, and it has a soundcard and I can plug straight into that, I guess. Do you think that will be as good as using a seperate soundcard box thing?

The Ibanez looks good, what would you upgrade first for this particular instrument?
If you want to buy a GSR 200 and upgrade, its not worth it really. Look for a used SR series bass from Ibanez then.
Quote by AmIEvil?
The Ibanez looks good, what would you upgrade first for this particular instrument?

See:
Quote by anarkee
If you want to buy a GSR 200 and upgrade, its not worth it really. Look for a used SR series bass from Ibanez then.

I wasn't suggesting an upgrade right away, just if the GSR fit in your budget to begin with.