SO Ive been a self taught guitarist for a long time now. Not proud of it, just my parents never really supported what I wanted to do and never gave me the necessary materials. My first starter guitar kit my dad bought for me didn't even come with a tuner and the lessons he promised me never happened. Anyway, Ive been re-teaching myself the proper techniques lately and really improving, but one thing sticks out to me and I wonder if I should change it or not.

When I play some chords, I get lazy and put one finger over two strings. Mainly with the Am and Em chords. I understand hammer-ons and pull-offs are pretty much impossible with this style, but I was wondering if It's acceptable to just play over with one finger if you're just playing the chord through. This is something I've been wondering for a while. Should I reteach myself the chord shape or just play my own style? I think I already know the answer but after countless google searches I've found nothing and would like some feedback from the UG community.

Thanks, Justin.
Last edited by Danglous at Mar 10, 2014,
You can use one finger to play chords like Em - Am some triads I do it all the time but i do also use two or three fingers for Am depends what i am playing and what sounds right .
I would discourage playing chords with one finger. As you said it makes hammerons/pulloffs impossible, but it also can inhibit your chord switching capability more importantly. If i were in your situation i would definitely reteach myself.
I have been in a somewhat similar situation the last year or so. I used to play your standard G chord with my index, middle and ring finger, but my guitar teacher at the time said i should try and get into the habit of playing with my index, ring and pinky because it makes chord switches easier.