I have never played the guitar before and wanted to start. However, a lot of the songs I hope to play one day are for 7 string. Should I start by learning how to play 6 string and then transition to 7? Or should I just start right away with a 7 string?
The Spanish Inquisition
First of all, I have no experience playing 7 string guitars. But I can share some of my experience when I stared out.

When I started out my guitar teacher insisted I started playing acoustic.
I didn't like this one thing, I wanted to play Metallica right off the bat.
Looking back I'm eternally grateful I made my first baby steps in guitar land on an acoustic.
Acoustics take a bit more strength in the fingers to play properly. Starting out with proper technique helps you out in the long run, something starting acoustic did for me.
After 6 months I was ready to move on to electric and could start to learn the Metallica I always wanted to play. I still like to switch back to acoustic a lot. Right now I'm back at acoustic playing because I secretly loved it more than I dared to admit

This story is hard to connect to yours but I'll draw some similarities that might help you out.

-I think a good seven string is more expensive than a good 6 string which is still more expensive than a decent acoustic (you can argue about this though)
-Starting out with a seven string might make you want to learn too fast and skip essential parts of your guitar technique.
-Playing guitar made me look at music entirely different, I discovered a lot of awesome music by not playing stuff I actually wanted to play (sounds strange huh).

So I guess it depends on the commitment you want to make. Starting to play guitar is a pretty long and time-consuming journey. I noticed your goals might change on the way. It would be a total waste to spend money on a 7 string if you gave up before you could make use of it, or just to find out you like playing different stuff after all.