VeilSide
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2007
542 IQ
#1
is it possible to short 2 9v outputs to achieve one 18v output?

lets say each output can provide up to 100mA, if the above assumption is possible, will it make it a 200mA output? or does it depend on the power supply pedal?
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#2
It depends on what you mean by shorting the thing.

Basically, is that if you connect power supplies in parallel (+ with + and - with -), they'll give you the same voltage and a power up to the sum of the powers of the two supplies, while if you connect the two (first + with second -) you get a voltage equal to the sum of the voltages of the two supplies and a power up to something like the average of the power of the two supplies.

So, you either make the thing work with that explanation or you write how exactly you think of "shorting" the outputs.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
VeilSide
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2007
542 IQ
#3
i was thinking of making a Y looking cable similar to this:


And im sorry, by power supply i meant a power supply pedal, with 9v outputs.
Last edited by VeilSide at Mar 13, 2014,
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#4
Hang on. You're what with which to the who now? My brain is imagining shit that it can't deal with.

Two supplies can be run in series if their earths are isolated but you'd want to make sure they were otherwise your just gonna short out one supply to ground, and with a lot of supplies that just means boom.
But that's not what you mean is it? You're thinking of doing a conjuring trick with the dc out on a pedal aren't you?

Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
VeilSide
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2007
542 IQ
#5
ok ill try to explain a little better lol
lets say this is my pedal power supply



only mine can provide 9v each.

what i need is a 18v output for a mxr 10band eq.

so, if i'll buy / make a cable that plugs in 2 9v outputs in one end, will it be able to power my 18v pedal?
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#6
You could do it as I said; as long as the earths are isolated from each other - and you wire your Y cable correctly. It has to place the supplies in series, not parallel.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
AngryHatter
Position Player
Join date: Mar 2013
21 IQ
#7
Not using the cables you showed.
Adding two 9VDC supplies in series will yield 18vdc.
Why not spend $20 and get one 18VDC supply?

Dunlop Power Supply Model: AD-1815 Output: 18VDC 150mA
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#8
^ it'd be hella more practical using only one power supply, and if it's insulated you'd keep that benefit.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
WeZ-84
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
34 IQ
#9
If you have one of those Voodoo labs type supplies, they often come with a cable that allows you to combine two 9v outputs to power 18v pedals.

(My digitech hardwire V10 came with one of those cables and some of the other power supplies I was looking at before I bought it like the T-Rex Fuel tank Jr did too)

Are you thinking of buying a power supply or trying something dodgy with a power supply you already have?

If you're thinking of buying one then the answer is yes if you buy a supply that is designed to do it, if it's the second one then the answer is maybe but do you want to potentially damage equipment if you give it a try?
VeilSide
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2007
542 IQ
#10
ya its a one i currently have, an Amdek psk 5