Page 1 of 2
I just started playing guitar a week ago, and I'm loving it. My teacher taught me tablature, but I also sometimes see notes when I download tabs from this website. I used to play piano a LONG time ago for just a year, so I am familiar with notes, but do guitarists use this as well? Like in pop songs etc.? Or do they just use tablature?

(tbh, I do NOT want to learn notes as it seems way harder than tablature. Tablature is so nice and simple. But if it is a more advanced method of writing songs or some other advantage, I would be more than happy to start learning it)

Thanks!
Notes refers to specific pitches used in music. All music uses notes. To not would imply the music is silent.

What you're referring to is standard notation. Tablature is definitely much simpler, but it fails in two aspects: dynamics and rhythm. By reading tabs, you will be unable to see whether the music is getting louder, or even the rhythm of specific notes (which, as you know, is very important in music).

Guitarists do use standard notation. I find that it's usually the classical guitarists who do, though it's not uncommon to find somebody who doesn't play classical music to use standard notation as well. A good example would be the guitarists who graduated from Berklee, such as John Petrucci.
Try to at least learn reading the most common standard notation so that you can understand note durations/rhythms/tuplets and notation such as staccato, accentuation, ghost/grace notes, ppp-fff etc.
It's really useful. Playing by reading the exact notes is much trickier on guitar as it requires knowing where all your notes are on the fretboard, lots of memorization and practice but you can learn it if you want - if you're looking to become professional, you'll have to. It's really nice to have both like you do in Guitar Pro and other tabbing software - as stated, tab on its own has limited information on the music.
Quote by triface