I'm fairly new to playing bass and I find the active pickups I have to be quite noisy when anything is turned up fairly high. I'm currently running straight from my bass to my practice amp which has no effects loop. However I'm thinking ahead as I don't want to buy the regulator Decimator only to replace it in a few months when I add pedals or upgrade amp etc.

Can I set the G String to work so it's just in between my bass and amp like the regular Decimator? For example:

Bass >> Guitar In
Dec Out >> Dec In
Guitar Out >> Amp

Would that work?
the bog standard decimator might be fine for bass. unless you're running tons of dirt from the amp (which is fairly unlikely on bass) i reckon being in front would be ok. Or you could even put the regular decimator in the loop.

EDIT: it's also worth pointing out that the g-string normally costs almost as much as two decimators. even if you did have to buy 2 decimators down the line it likely wouldn't be the end of the world, unless you need to save as much pedalboard real estate (and power supply cables) as possible.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Last edited by Dave_Mc at Mar 15, 2014,