Hi Guys.
I hope someone can help. I'm relatively new to the rehearsal studios. Our band meets up say once every month, due to work constraints etc.....when we do get to the studios, we have a great time, however our levels are appalling. We have a drummer, Bassist, rhythm guitarist, lead and vocals. We understand that the drums set the underpinning levels, then bass, rhythm, lead then vocals. My sticking point, is I play rhythm guitar through my boss floor pedals straight into a Marshall stack. Our bassist plays through a floor unit straight into a stack. However our lead guitarist plays through a multi effects unit into two amps so he is creating a stereo output. This in turn floods the room with only his sound. I'm having to constantly increase volume so I can hear myself, as is the bassist, thus making the singer increase his volume, which then creates all kinds of feedback. Ergh. It's horrible. My question is, should our lead guitarist have the same set up as the rhythm and bassist. Just one amp, so I'm guessing it's a kind of mono output....

Thanks gang.
Lead guitarist should crowd the rest as it is most important. Betas like you should just suck it up.
Quote by Carmel
I can't believe you are whoring yourself out like that.

ಠ_ಠ
the lead guitarist is deaf and mute or what's the problem?

why can't you just tell him to fix his volume and set it customized to the rest of you?
sometimes I see us in a cymbal splash or in the sound of a car crash
You're running a Boss Metalzone through a Marshall MG.

You need a new fucking setup. Immediately.

Problem solved.
Tell him to go back to his backing tracks and play as bloody loud as he can. This is a band and not only his project.