Hey guys!

Just to give a little background, I've been playing guitar for about 18 years. I have played a bass a handful of times in "gig" situations but have never owned one.

Recently I began a recording project in which I play all the instruments. I am using my DAW to create drum tracks, synth, etc. (of course I'm playing all the guitar parts.) I thought I could use the virtual instruments to create bass lines, but it just isn't working out. I need a real bass guitar in there to be able to lay the foundation to my riffs (genre is "deathened' black metal", BTW.)

I'm not planning to get a bass amp or the whole nine yards -- I'll be plugging this directly into my interface and using the amp/cab simulators in my DAW. My question is -- do I need to spend much money on a first bass guitar just for recording purposes in this manner? I have a budget of about $175. I am not afraid to go used, as I've learned that that is the best way to get something nice without having to sell a kidney. But if there are any new basses in that range -- please point me in that direction?

Also, should I get one with active pickups or passive?

Finally, and this is more of a composition question --- do bass guitarists generally play bass lines 1 octave below what the guitars are doing? I've never really paid much attention to what the bass is doing -- I only know that music sounds like shit without it.
look on craigslist for an ibanez gsr200 . You should be able to get a 200 (passive, P/J style) for $100 or less. I got mine from a store, w/ bag, strap new strings for $99. New they're only 180. Of all my guitars it's been the most 'reliable'/ rugged.
I've seen other bass' at GC for under $200 new and used.

active just gives you more output and perhaps more tone control w/ an amp - not something you'll need with your plan.