Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for a few years now, and got into recording my own material only recently.

Of course, I found it a hell lot harder than I thought. A lot of deficiencies in my guitar playing came out ( mainly timing issues ) and it takes me, I don't know, at least 10 or 20 takes to record even the simplest of parts, for example a simple chord progression in power chords, all downstrokes.

When listening closely, I find the timing is a little bit off in some parts, and I really don't like the idea of copy-pasting less than a few beats to disguise it... I mean, I find copy pasting a whole verse or chorus is ok, but not parts of it. It's just a frustrating ( and humbling ) experience.

how many takes do you guys have to do to record a simple part just right? is it normal to suck so much?
completely normal, especially if you haven't been jamming a lot with other people.

now that you've realized that you have a problem, it's a good time to reevaluate your technique. go back to playing along with songs you already know, but pay attention to how imprecise your playing is and fix it.

i also had to start recording my own song ideas to realize that my playing was terrible. and i'm only now starting to reach that point where i can record riffs without needing a million takes while also remaining relaxed like i normally am when not recording.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!