I want to start using Amp Modellers/Multi-effects live but am unsure of what Power Amp to get.

Can anyone recommend me a good one? Also does the Power amp colour the tone at all? Any help is appreciated as I am a gear noob

Budget: Upto £250
New or used: Either
Amp modeller/multi-effects: POD HD500
Last edited by Afroboy267 at Mar 23, 2014,
Quote by Afroboy267
I'm thinking of getting the Peavey PV1500 power amp, would this be a good choice?

The Peavey weighs 45 lbs and provides up to 1000W bridged, mono and runs (at Sweetwater) about $469.

I use a Carvin HD1500 that weighs 9 lbs and provides up to 1400W bridged, mono (4 ohms) or 900W bridged, mono (8 ohms) and runs (direct from Carvin) $299. The difference here is that the Carvin is a fairly standard and basic Class D, while the Peavey is an older toroidal design.
Quote by Afroboy267
I want to start using Amp Modellers/Multi-effects live but am unsure of what Power Amp to get.

Can anyone recommend me a good one? Also does the Power amp colour the tone at all? Any help is appreciated as I am a gear noob

A power amp will not (should not) color the tone. It should provide flat response over a very wide range with little variance and almost no harmonic distortion. Any coloration is supposed to be provided by your HD500.

If you choose speakers that are also mostly uncolored (PA type or wide-range like the Carvin LS-1503), then any patches that you create on your HD500 will be able to be run into any other uncolored speaker (from arena PA to small powered studio monitor or studio-quality headphones) fairly unchanged. If you choose a guitar speaker (which usually has a mids hump in the 1000-2000Hz area, and which drops off around 110Hz and around 4000Hz), you'll definitely experience coloration, and it will be more difficult to set your rig up when you want to use a different output medium.
Quote by Afroboy267
What do you wanna power?