You modernist buffs, give me some direction on this.

I saw that jazz_rock_feel was talking about this in another thread, and it sounds really interesting. I feel like I could understand it, if I studied it. I deal with a lot of upper-level math and computer programming techniques in university. So, I don't think it'd be a huge issue if the material was a bit dense. (Hell, try Numerical Analysis some time. It's as dense as it gets, or so it seems on certain days.)

Anyway...suggestions? Books? Websites? Pieces using set theory?

GO!
Last edited by crazysam23_Atax at Mar 24, 2014,
Surprisingly, Wikipedia is a great source for esoteric theory concepts. We're working with set theory and tone rows in my theory class currently, and the professor has assigned several readings from Wikipedia.

As far as the math goes, it's really very simple. If you can subtract and follow patterns, you can do it.

A good place to start is learning integer notation. With that system, C = 0, C#/Db = 1 etc, etc, B = 11, and then it comes back to C = 0.

The basic concept of composition using set theory is choosing a set of intervals (e.g. [0,1,4]) and manipulating that set.
Rather than focusing on using C, Db, and E in that set, you would be focusing on using the intervals of a half-step, a minor third, and a major third. For example, you could use the pitches [10,11,2] and it would still reduce down to [0,1,4], as it uses all the same intervals as I listed above.

There are three important categories with which you can analyze your set: Normal Order, Prime Order, and Interval Vector.

Normal Order: To find Normal Order, find the two pitches with the largest interval between them and start your set with the second one. For example, if you had the pitches C#, F, G#, the largest interval is between G# and C#, so you would start your Normal Order at C#, making your Normal Order [1,5,8]