Hello,
I have been playing acoustic guitar every now and then for a couple of years, but I want to get into electric guitar now. Problem is I have no idea what guitar to buy. Every time I decide on one I change my mind.
I've done a tonnn of research.. and some sites say start out with a relatively cheap guitar while youre learning, see how you like it, etc.
Other sites say don't even bother with the cheap guitars because youll just frustrate yourself. 'Spend the extra money cuz its worth it'

Heres some guitars I've found that have good reviews:

This is a relatively cheap Fender Squier that has good reviews.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/squier-standard-stratocaster-electric-guitar

OR
I could spend the extra money and get something like

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/ibanez-rg450dx-electric-guitar

The type of music I'd want to play is more classic rock/hard rock which is what led me to the Ibanez. But ive been told that Fender strats are great first guitars.
I don't want to spend a ton of money seeing as though I am not rich and Im a total beginner. If you guys could help me out with any comments/opinions/help thatd be great.
and just out of curiosity-
What was your first electric guitar?

cheers!
I'm assuming your budget is ~$400? Did you realize that you will have to get an amp? I'll leave that for you to figure out.

Anyway, my advice is don't start out with a cheapo guitar. But don't blow $3k on a USA Gibson either. Go for the best that you can afford. Preferably one that plays well and looks good. Don't worry with brand name yet.

Are you planning on using the tremolo system? If you are, neither of those guitars will do it for you. Cheap double locking trems go out of tune as badly as a non locking trem if it is EVH/ Herman Li abused.

You might get the tones you are looking for with the strat but you're safer with the Ibanez because Humbuckers. Not great humbuckers but HB's nonetheless.

Try these

Jacksons