I have my choice between a Epiphone Les Paul Special 2 or a Fender Squier Strat (Not Affinity Series). I've never played a Les Paul, but I would love to have one because I play Marilyn Manson and Slayer a lot so the humbuckers would be nice. I've played a lot of Strats and like them. Which should I buy?
They are very close in quality, it comes down to taste. You seem to like some hum-bucker goodness though so I'd pull the trigger on the epi.
Thanks Starcounter! I've decided to spend 10 bucks more and get the Les Paul. Been listening to the guitar parts on Manson stuff a lot more lately (I'm a bassist) and noticed the humbuckers would be better. I used to have a strat and it barely made enough of an aggressive tone to cover any Manson without turning my distortion pedal all the way up along with another distortion pedal
Quote by Starcounter1
They are very close in quality (...)

I don't agree. Epi Specials always feel like toys to me, and i've played a bunch of different ones since they're very popular among beginners around here.
They look cheap, play cheap... Overall, i don't like them since there are better options on the same price range.

That said, a Strat with single coils wouldn't be an option either, since TS definitely needs a guitar with humbuckers (or at least one humbucker on the bridge).

TS, if you give us this information we can probably help you find a better guitar to suit your needs:

Budget? - What is practical for you and what is your limit?

Favorite Artists? - Are there any guitarists whose tone that you'd like to get close to?

Preferences? - What body shapes, neck profiles, brands, and number of frets do you like/want?

Pickups? - Do you want actives, passives, humbuckers, single coils? What configuration are you looking for?

New or Used? - Lots of great guitars out there used, and a guaranteed way to get the most bang for your buck.