I apologize if this has been addressed, I cant find an answer upon search.

Im new to recording in DAW, I dont know if im doing this right at all. Im a newb so please bear with me.

I have an acoustic guitar part, i record it once, with a single microphone, and pan it left, I record it again with same microphone, different take, pan it left, then record same part, pan it right, record same part different take, pan it right. and that is what stereo recording is?

So basicly 2 tracks left, 2 tracks right for the same riff/part ?

Then the song breaks into a distortion guitar part, so i record once, pan it left record it again pain it right?

im so confused, thanks to all who reply
There's a couple of different ways to look at stereo in a mix as there is a big difference between a mix in stereo and something recorded in stereo

For example, if you were recording an acoustic guitar with a single microphone and did two takes and put them hard left/right in your mix then it would be a stereo mix but recorded in mono (as the tracks were isolated single tracks)

If you however got a secondary microphone and pointed them (for arguments sake) on a 90 degree angle from the other so one was facing left and one was facing right, then recorded a single double track (one for each mic) acoustic guitar track, then this would be a stereo mix which was recorded in stereo

Both of your examples with the acoustic and the distorted guitars are still going to be part of a stereo mix, as you are obviously mixing for two speakers, the tracks themselves are still going to be mono unless they are recorded originally in stereo. This is a very very simple and general way of looking at it, if you had any other questions don't hesitate to ask, and hopefully i helped you more than confuse :P
What you're doing is double tracking (or multi-track recording, if you prefer)