Hi everyone,

This may sound amateurish, and well, that's because it is.

I've been playing guitar for a bit now but I am a complete noob when it comes to what I class as 'Studio Knowledge'. I'm going to make this short, I'll give you my scenario, what I understand (Or rather how little I understand) and then leave you guys to help a poor uninformed soul out.

I am a bedroom guitar player. Play guitar into Dist pedal - Wah - into Blackstar HT-20. Emulated out into line in on computer. Use Cubase to record. Sound comes out through mediocre desktop speakers. Believe it or not, I get a pretty good tone but it lacks, obviously, VOLUME!

Okay, so I can turn it up to a relatively pleasing level but obviously if it's on clean, it'll distort eventually and when it's on distortion, it just turns into complete noise!

What sort of thing will help me achieve clarity with distortion, but also volume? I'm not looking for the volume of a wall of 4x12 cabs with 100 watt heads!!! Just something more reasonable.

Would studio speakers help?

Would an audio interface help at all?

If I were to get a speaker cab for my amp, as well as a suitable mic and audio interface to record the sound of the cab, would I still have the same problem with volume from desktop speakers?

Also, is there anyway to get reasonable volume and tone/clarity/sound when using earphones? / Headphones if needs be.

I really am a complete noob when it comes to understanding speakers and all I want to do, is to be able to play my guitar through Cubase, and not have to sacrifice volume entirely, while also using headphones if I so wish.

So what exactly am I looking at here? What gear/equipment do I need/what will help? Bear in mind I'm on a tight as budget as possible, but also willing to wait and buy the bits as I go along if the cheaper stuff is just no good at all.

Thanks in advance!
Does this problem happen with headphones plugged into the computer?

Could it be the computer speakers?