Hello all. Long-time reader, first time poster! I just got a new (to me) Traynor YBA-1. Serial number indicates that it's a late 60's amp, the number says probably '69, seller said '68, either way, "late '60s". Sounded incredible upon my first play through. I jammed for two hours with no problem besides maybe a bit of hissing at times. Then, it suddenly stopped. There was a quiet, but present sound in the cab and the cab was checked with other heads and was fine. The power tubes looked fine and lit up nicely, but I'm an idiot and didn't know the preamp tube covers came off so easily so I never checked them. The fuse on the back was not blown. Now, the last owner said he put new power tubes in a year ago and seldom played it in the meantime. Knowing what we know, is it most likely that I need to replace the preamp tubes? Should I just do it anyway knowing that the preamp tubes haven't been changed in years? I've been playing for almost 10 years but never until lately wanted to learn about amps haha.
Some music stores have a tube tester. Shop around and get your bottles checked first. Replace only the bad ones as preamp tubes often last a long time. Make certain your cords and input jacks are ok.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
The YBA-1 is the 45watt version, right?

If you're comfortable doing so, pull the chassis out from the head cab, and take a look to see if any of the caps have blown, or are leaking.

I almost bought a YBA-1A head about a year ago, but the only ones I could find locally hadn't been recapped, and the guys wanted top dollar. Great amps tho, and I plan to own one someday!