So,On and off i've been playing electric for 19 years,I've just picked it up again after a break for a couple of years.I remember before i stopped i was kind of in the legato trap,My style was starting to bore me,i could improvise and run up and down scales and play various licks and link them etc fairly quick etc,but i was kind of stuck in a rut.Since i've just picked up the guitar again,I've promised myself to ditch my old ways and everytime i play,to try and pick every note to try and reinvent my style,I always have my old stuff there to add into the mix if i need but i'm trying to avoid it.So,How can i get my picking fluent and up to speed?What are some good excersises for this that work for getting my right hand working in harmony with my left to eventually make this style second nature?
Cheers guitar guys
Last edited by EyeballPaul at Apr 2, 2014,
People will probably tell you to do any number of different exercises but really you can play almost anything, the important thing is how you do it.

You really just need to play anything with lots of picking in it and concentrate on making sure you're doing it right: relaxed, small motions; hands synchronized as much as possible. That's the really important part, beyond that it's more a question of making sure what you're doing is musical because that way you have something to play as well.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
I started many years ago Alternate picking I was actually alternate picking without actually knowing what it was back then it just felt natural to me , now i know what alternate picking is i worked on improving my speed basically I alt pick everything scales - licks - improvising -