Page 1 of 2
So, I just wanted to ask your opinion on a few things. Like the title says, deos gear matter?

You know who when someone posts a link to a youtube video of 'x<10 year old kid shreds' or something like that? The thing is, the only guitars I've seen them playing are top of the line Jacksons, Ibanez's, PRS's and all those over $700 guitars with over $1000 tube amps.

Do you think the gear they are playing or started out with helped them achieve that? I know it takes practice and dedication but does it give them an edge over someone who starts with a sub $150 chinese knock-off?

Opinions/ thoughts ?
Yes, gear matters. Not as much as talent and practice, but yes.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
It can be rewarding to play on gear that fits your playing and ear. Some people find that a nicer rig motivates them to create or practice more effectively.

Gear is not going to make you a better player on its own. A better rig is almost never what is holding a person from being the best musician they can be.

So yes, of course it matters, but it often gets in the way where people spend more time obsessing over it. Practice is far more important.
It definitely matters, but not as much as actually playing.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.

Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.

i read a quote a while back... dont know if it was this forum or some other.... but yeah it said:

"Once you have the chops, you'll see how less gear actually matters. But once you know what to listen for, you'll see what an impact gear has"

its literally been my view towards music/audio.
Quote by darrenram1