When I started playing, of course I used factory standard settings. As I got better, I kept raising the action because I missed the struggle I used to have with my guitar.

I dunno if it's nostalgia or it's some kind of fear, afraid that I'll have nowhere to go next, but this is getting me worried.

Please tell me I'm not the only one who's addicted to struggling with their guitar.

I mean, look at where I put it now.

Any guys out there who's having this kind of mental fixation like I do?
Attachments:
WP_20140407_21_51_40_Pro.jpg
Gear:
Jackson Dinky (JB+59) > TC Polytune Noir > TS808 clone > DOD 250 > Modded RAT > CH-1 > GE-7 > TC Flashback > Plexi Clone
Last edited by Archer250 at Apr 7, 2014,
I play with my action a bit higher. I get fumble fingers and tend to press a lot harder when I play live, so I counteract it by making myself dig a bit in practice so it balances out.
OBEY THE MIGHTY SHITKICKER
Yeah, but that's rather a physical precondition, don't you think? Mine starts as a mental one which makes me reliant on high action now.
Gear:
Jackson Dinky (JB+59) > TC Polytune Noir > TS808 clone > DOD 250 > Modded RAT > CH-1 > GE-7 > TC Flashback > Plexi Clone
Why would you be addicted to struggling at the guitar? Why would anyone like the feeling of being bad at something?

That's super high, your intonation must be whacked.
Gear:

Gibson 2005 Les Paul Standard
Fender Road Worn Strat w/ Noiseless pickups
Marshall JCM 2000 401C
Marshall Vintage Modern 2266
Marshall 1960A cab (Dave Hill from Slade's old cab)
Ibanez TS9DX
EHX Little Big Muff
Freshman Acoustic
I have loads of trouble with my action.

I have it how I like it, I pick up another guitar, try and get that one to be like the other one, then go back to the old one after a while and that's too low!

My action has gotten higher and higher to the point where it's pretty damn high. But I play blues/hard/rock stuff so for big bends and vibrato etc I need to be able to get under the strings.