So, it hasn't been until the last few years that I've ever considered myself a "musician," and in all honesty, when it comes to playing music my primary interest is in songwriting.

As such, my main instruments are piano and acoustic guitar. I also play bass in a three-piece band with my friends. I've been playing an acoustic guitar for close to 10 years now, and I'm pretty much where I want to be with that instrument. (I mean, I can always get better, but I'm able to write songs and play pretty much most things I want with some practice.)

However, in my heart I want to rock, and a lot of these songs that I write I usually intended to turn into full-band arrangements. So I bought and electric guitar and I've been jamming with my brother (who plays drums), but I am having trouble transferring my acoustic skills -- especially when it comes to jamming or improvising.
I tend to rely on just playing barre or power chords and kind of running through the same progressions and rhythms - OR I end up just playing the electric like an acoustic when I'm really stuck, and with distortion a lot of those open chords sound mucky (as you know). I try to vary it by inverting power chords or playing fourths or more lead-type stuff, but I'm still pretty unhappy with it. It also hurts my left hand a lot more and a lot quicker and my playing is MUUUUCH sloppier.

My question is what is the best way to adapt to playing electric guitar? What techniques can I use to improve and become better at jamming/improvising (aside from scales, which I already do)? Mostly, how can I adapt to fit the electric guitar better?

And just to start a general discussion on the differences between the two instruments.
If you're just starting on the electric guitar, turn that distortion off dude. You should ensure that you're using good technique on a clean setting first.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud