So I've been patiently waiting for a Randall RM20 comb to pop up in my area and that day has finally come. Got one with the Blackface module for $350, cheaper than expected.

The Blackface module is probably the best clean tone I've ever owned. I'm not too fond of crystal clear clean but it sounds great and its really just the begining for this amp. Into the magical world of modules and mods I go.

The next module I wanna get is for mid gain tones. I love the midgain tone of my Rebel 20. Kind of a thick, Marshall-y growl and thats what I'd like to mimic. I noticed there are several "hotrodded marshall" type modules but I have no experience whatsoever with this stuff. Can anyone with experience with the modules give me some suggestions? It looks like the 1086 or the sl+ may be what I'm looking for but I don't have much to base my choice on. Will the plexi module get pretty growly?

A lil further down the road I'd like to get a Diezel Herbert type module for high gain. I'm not into metal but I love the Diezel model on my multifx. Any good Diezel modules?

Any others you think I may be interested in? I like everything from dirty clean through mid-high gain. I like variety, which was why the RM was at the top of my gas list the moment I heard about them.

Also, any good to know info/tips on mts modules? I found the mts grailtone forum which seems pretty useful. I'll take any info/advice I can get.

Also, I fully plan on experimenting anyways, but I wonder where's best to swap which tubes and why. I've got a gaggle of preamp tubes to screw around with. Its confusing though cause theres 12ax7's in the amp and the modules.
Fender Mustang/Derfenstein DST> Boss Power Wah> Pedal Monsters Klone> Bogner Uberschall> Walrus Audio Janus> Randall RM20> Line 6 M9> Randall RM20
Last edited by lucky1978 at Apr 8, 2014,
Cathbard has the RM100 and he has bought a few modules from www.salvationmods.com and he talks highly of www.savationmods.com