I just saw this video on improving picking speed, and among the traditional tips (angling the pick, pick from the wrist, etcetera) the guy argued that in order to improve both your picking speed and articulation, one must pick relatively hard when practicing. The theory goes that once you master a lick at a certain speed while picking hard, you can play the same lick slightly faster while applying normal pressure.

If that sounds a bit vague, watch this: http://practiceguitarnow.com/howtoplayguitarfastvideo.html
(He talks about it around the 1:10 mark).

Thoughts?
baab
Makes sense, I started playing with a thicker pick (2mm) and now when ever I play with my old size (.70) I find my playing smoother.

Not sure if it's the same thing but that worked for me.
Theres some truth to that, I used to pick really hard but didnt really like the tone so I lightened up a bit and it feels easier.

I think if you use a very distorted tone you need to go easy with the picking whereas if you are using light distortion you can get away with heavier pick strokes.
kind of agree, only because when you pick hard, it makes mistakes more obvious so you need to be sure
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Personally the theory sounds a bit dubious to me. Generally you train how you want to play with guitar.

On the other hand, picking hard sounds sweet imho so it can be worth practising regardless.
I think its more important to practice with accents rather than picking hard all the time.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."