Hey there,

I am a beginner and in the market for an amp. Sounds easy enough but there is so many choices out there and I am bit overwhelmed/indecisive. I have listened to a few and they all sound decent to me. I like to play rock (classic, hard), a bit of blues and occasionally some heavy things. Playing I use loosely...
I currently have a epiphone les paul standard and would eventually like to get a 2nd guitar (esp, strat, jackson, i dunno). I would like to keep the amp as cheap as possible but my budget at the top end is 700 canadian. The used market I am not really into due to my location. I have no aspirations to gig and just play in my basement as I use the guitar for stress relief. Weight, looks, etc I don't really care as I am looking for something that will last. I do have a pandora mini which I tap into when my kid sleeps.

I have looked at amps like:

Line6 amplifi
Fender Mustang 3
Yamaha THR10
Peavey Vypyr VIP 3
Orange Tiny Terror/Orange Dark Terror (with a cabinet out of my price range)
Fender Blues Jr III

Would anyone have any suggestions and help me solve my indecisiveness?

Thanks!
Last edited by revernd80 at Apr 9, 2014,
Name 3-4 bands that you consider influences in your playing or you want to get close to their sound. It's a big wide amp world and this will narrow the choices some.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
A Peavey Classic 30, Egnater Rebel, or a Jet City would suit you well
Gibson SG Standard
Gibson Les Paul Traditional
Cort Explorer
Squire Standard Strat rebuilt with Fender USA parts
Squire Tele
Krank 1980
Orange Tiny Terror
Traynor YCV 50 Blue
Peavey Vypyr 75

Will fly for food. Call me Dylan