I'm not new to guitar. I have played for many years. I can write pretty good songs and even write and play some sweet leads. The only problem is I don't really know what I am doing. I know the names of string, what octaves are and how to harmonize. It would probably surprise you that I didn't know what I was doing if I played something I wrote. But I want to know how to improvise and not get stuck with writers block. I want to know immediately what to play when jamming with other guitar players. I want to be able to do so much more than I am able too. I am one of the guitar players who have learned mostly from reading tabs and using guitar pro. And while these methods served me very well through out the years it has also destroyed my potential. Guitar lessons are a little too pricy for me at the moment. Is there an amazing book to start with? I cannot read notes. But when I pick up a lot of the books they seem like they are for the absolute beginner. Maybe that's still me? I have no know idea how to classify myself when it comes to this point. It is a big turn off to see a book that shows how to play three blind mice and other overly simple songs that are meant for someone that have never picked the instrument up before. Do I need to start here? I really need some direction...

My preferred style of guitar if it matters is metal and leads. Mainly in the style of August Burns Red, As I Lay Dying, Killswitch Engage, mid Darkest Hour and older All that Remains.
Quote by osakamitsu
My preferred style of guitar if it matters is metal and leads. Mainly in the style of August Burns Red, As I Lay Dying, Killswitch Engage, mid Darkest Hour and older All that Remains.

That's your problem right there.