Hi, I'm looking at buying a Blackstar HT-5R head and really like the idea of building my own 2x12 cab for it. I studied a music production degree and did a lot of acoustic theory so I know how important the size of the box is and the material used, only problem is that was 5 years ago and I can't remember any of it lol

So I thought I'd cut a few corners and use the dimensions of a popular cab, the Zilla Fat Boy. It's a closed back design which scares me a little, but I think I'm safe as I'm just coping the dimensions of the cab, anything obvious I've missed that might bring my idea crashing down?

The dimensions are 760cm(h)x470(w)x360(d), the eagle eyed of you will notice I'm going for a vertical set-up rather than horizontal. Again any issues with doing this? I'm sure there isn't but just want to make sure!

So my first real question is about the material! Most people seem to recommend "13 ply birch," what does this mean? Is it 13mm thick? I've heard mentioning of it being made out of baltic birch, is that what the 13ply stands for?

My local store has "hardwood plywood" at 12mm or 18mm thick, the zilla cabs are 15mm thick. So two questions, would standard plywood be ok or does it need to be this 13 ply? Will 18mm make a huge difference to the tone, and if it does in what way?

Tone wise I'm going for full fat metal, just want really chunky palm mutes, so quite a bit of low end but really tight at the same time. Really don't want it to be muddy! Speaker wise I'm thinking a combo of the V30 and G12T-75. Unless you have a better suggestion?

Any help appreciated, thanks.
One thing I've heard is that the closed back is actually better for metal.

Otherwise, I'm pretty much in the same boat. Im working on making a combo into a stack, (for a 10w :P ) and I'm actually just using the shell of the combo for a cab, just to avoid having to actually build a cab.

Good Luck to you!
Gear:

Guitars:
BC Rich Warlock
Dean 88
ME682-In Progress
Amps:
Carvin SX300
Etc: