I've been playing on and off for a few years, and looking back, my strategy could have been a lot tighter.

I've always been eager to find new ways to practice, better use my time, and make more tangible progress. Part of that is understanding how, over the course of months and years, other guitarists develop their own skills. I'd love to see some of the more experienced players around here break down their own learning history.

In broad strokes, my history was something like this:

- I spent the first year learning the basics, like open chords, barre chords, minor pentatonic positions, basic legato techniques, etc. I spent a lot of time improvising with the minor pentatonic over backing tracks and songs, but I never really broke out of those box shapes.

- Later in my first year I started learning chord-driven pop songs, basically played campfire style -- strumming chords and singing. I didn't "learn" much from this, but it helped with my technique in terms of tempo and accuracy.

- In my second year I started getting serious about voicings, learning 3-string triads and inversions, and starting to learn more about drop-2 jazz chords. Voice leading became an interest in my chord progressions.

- Late in my second year/early in my third I started trying to learn solos, such as the famous Cream "Crossroads" solo, to expand my lead technique.

- Now I find myself really getting into how arpeggio shapes and arpeggiated triads can be worked into my lead playing to help break up the boring scale-based patterns I'm usually stuck with. This means I'm also taking theory more seriously, trying to actively use the shapes of chords within the key as a basis for solo melody ideas, rather than just going by ear so much.
Last edited by adrienfr at Apr 11, 2014,
I took guitar lessons from a great guitar player.

I practiced continuously...still do.
Last edited by AngryHatter at Apr 11, 2014,
Quote by vayne92
I don't really see any merit in this thread..