Hi guys,

So I've been playing for nearly 6 years and have made some incredible strides in my guitar playing...I formed a metal band in college (not active- since we've graduated and moved on to other things) and have a natural talent for composing interesting riffs and rhythms. However, although I can play leads to a few songs and have done a few of my own I feel I always have to rely on the same tricks and eventually that'll lead to all my solos sounding the same.

I guess, what I wanted to find out here is how you guys taught yourselves to play lead guitar to a level where if you hear almost any rhythm you could play something out. Did you subscribe to lessons? Read up on music theory?

As you can tell, I'm not a guy who picked up an axe a week ago and wants to be the next Van Halen. I'm definitely willing to put in the work, I just don't know what I should be working on at the moment lol.

I'm not sure if it's appropriate to attach a sample of how I play, but I thought it might be helpful for you guys who reply to know where I am with my playing.

Train of Consquences - Megadeth (Solo Cover)
Just expand your lead repertoire. Learn a ton of soli and absorb licks you like. Not everything you play has to be new, it just has to be in a new context.
The thing i did, which applies universally to "rhythm guitar", "lead guitar" or any instrument for that matter is learning a lot of it by ear. If i found i had a weakness in playing solos, i would learn solos that i had a hard time by ear and just slow them down.

The way to learn music is very much like learning to speak, you listen and then you imitate. Eventually you will know enough through imitation to being able to instantly craft your own sentences, and over time your language becomes more and more sofisticated. Its not until later on you begin to analyze that "oh that word is a verb" and "this is an adjective". The sound comes first and the word to describe the sound comes later on if you need it.