I know this kind of question has been asked a few times before but probably not about the kind of bands I'm about to ask. So the question is how much do moderately famous symphonic, power metal and similar kind of bands make in an year, the kind of bands that have like 75000-250,000 likes on their facebook pages for example soilwork, delain, xandria, after forever, crucified barbara etc.
Most metal bands are part timers. They have day jobs and that and just book a lot of time off work to tour.
I'm no expert in the matter but I'd guess that they're able to make a living off their music but they wouldn't be rich by any means.
Quote by The_Locker
I'm no expert in the matter but I'd guess that they're able to make a living off their music but they wouldn't be rich by any means.

But the bands I've mentioned all are signed to decent sized labels and they tour almost 4-5 months in an year, have their professionally produced videos on youtube, still do you think they're no way near rich?
Define rich.

Also watch Anvil! The Story of Anvil. It will give you some insight into how it works.
Last edited by Malchius at Apr 13, 2014,
Quote by andyscoot
Most metal bands are part timers. They have day jobs and that and just book a lot of time off work to tour.

But these bands tour for months at a time in different countries, I don't think they can do that with a day job,
Quote by Malchius
Define rich.

Also watch Anvil! The Story of Anvil. It will give you some insight into how it works.

I said rich only in reply to other poster but anyways by rich I personally would think an annual income of in the $100K per year per band member
Quote by Malchius
Define rich.

And yeah thanks I'll watch it
Last edited by terry3218 at Apr 13, 2014,
I doubt any of those bands you've mentioned are getting that much through music alone. Most of the profits will be gained by the record label.
Quote by terry3218