Hello everyone!

I'm a beginner player....just started lessons and am acquiring the gear I want.

My main desire is to ultimately be able to play some of the classic rock and 90's metal that I listen too.

I think I have my basis covered on the electric side of things with new amp & guitar. What I'm looking for is a nice acoustic guitar to enjoy along the way, too.

The store that I ordered my electric from (Gibson SG Special) has a number of really nice acoustics in stock.

I've been in there a couple times and I keep grabbing the same Breedlove Dreadnought Cutaway. I believe it's one from the Discovery series. I know it's no high dollar Martin or Taylor, but it is certainly a nice instrument at the budget I can afford right now....$400.

The only Martin or Taylor guitars in stock in this price range are the "baby" models.

In that price range I've not found anything that feels and sounds as good in other stores.

Am I making a mistake going with this one???

What else in the $400 range would you advise?

My son, (also a beginner) fell in love with another acoustic, Fender CD-60CE, in the store the other day. He really liked the feel, sound and look (it's a Fender----cutaway-----and black......his teenage criteria ). We'll be getting this one for him when we go back for our next lesson. I didn't really care for it....but he was jazzed up about it, which is all that matters to me. Our teacher agreed that any number of gear options would do....just go with what he's enthused about for starter gear.

Time is an issue as I'm still waiting on my SG to arrive and unsure on the delivery date....should be this week, but who knows. i need a guitar so I can practice what I'm learning in my lessons. (My son is tired of me borrowing his guitars).

I want to get this resolved today.....this morning.....so I can be strumming by noon. I've got a couple days of vacation this week and want to make the best of it.