I recorded this solo over a commercial backing track using Reaper and while i like the basics of it, it seems like i cannot get a good mix of the guitar and backing.

I have tons of plugins for my DAW (T-Racks, Izotope, EZMix) and have tried various settings but it seems to all come out the same mix-wise. Any suggestions for getting the guitar to sound clearer?

Here is the music: http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/soulgrenade/music/play1257218
You've not just shoved presets on there right? Though honestly it sounds fine to me.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Last edited by ChemicalFire at Apr 15, 2014,
"You've not just shoved presets on there right?"

Well honestly, yes. I am new to recording and have been feverishly trying to learn how to use my DAW and plugins but the art of mixing/mastering eludes me.

And for the record i'm really just trying to lay these tracks down as demo's to be re-recorded at a later date but i still want them to sound good.
The track itself is probably already mixed and mastered well enough, you should just focus on creating a guitar tone you like and going from there. A little low cut on the guitar and some tweaking of your amp sim and it should be fine.

Quote by DisarmGoliath
So let me ask you this then, when i record the guitar track should i maybe record one track hard left and the other hard right? or maybe 3 tracks, left/right/middle?

I really just want the guitar loud but not too loud.
If it's not loud enough, the first thing you need to do is turn up the master on the amp sim you're using.

Quote by DisarmGoliath
If it's not loud enough, the first thing you need to do is turn up the master on the amp sim you're using.

And perhaps make a very shallow and wide cut on the EQ around the mids on the backing track to let the solo guitar cut through more.

Quote by DisarmGoliath