Page 1 of 2
I have been playing guitar for just about 5 years. I understand that amps help a great deal with tone, but I can't quite figure out what the big deal is with amp modeling. Why put an amp model in a mfx board when you can get a similar sound by using distortion and eq pedals? That being said, why have an amp at all when you can get similar sounds from other pedals? It's all going through the PA anyways (unless it's not, then you would need one for volume, but we're not talking about volume here).

Just a simple question, please don't respond with sarcasm. I've been playing for five years, sometimes the most obvious things just get by you.
Last edited by JHop19 at Apr 15, 2014,
Why drive a car, when you could drive a motorcycle? Why drive a motorcycle, when a bike will get you there, too?

The purpose of an amplifier is to amplify, as has already been said. Some people are fine using pedals for their sound and some people are fine going without an amplifier and going directly into the PA and using headphones at home and then there is the vast majority of guitarists who actually like to play into a real amplifier, rather than trying to emulate it with a bunch of boxes on the floor.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
The reason behind mfx processors is versatility.

Say you like AB864 cleans AND VH4's channel three.
An AB864 will not sound like a VH4's channel three and a VH4 will not sound like an AB864, and the closest you can get to both without buying the two of them is using an amp modeler.

People say they like the feel of analog tube amps and their tone and stuff.
To me, making an amp modeler sound good is expensive and unpractical for what I do.
Plus I like just taking up the guitar and flipping a switch and poof, there I have my sound.
I like physical stuff.