I've heard a few people very casually mention that Cubase is a 'lesser' software for mixing music, and I'm wondering why this is? I'm just getting into mixing and recording after playing guitar and drums for a while and I'm trying to work out which software is best for me, and as a mild technophobe Cubase seems to be the most user friendly which suits me very well. Is this actually a bad idea? Also if Cubase is the way to go, is it worth saving up for the more expensive versions?
Thanks for helping
No DAW is objectively better or worse than any other. It's all about how you like to work.

There is nothing wrong with cubase and if anyone who says it's "lesser" is likely the same person who says that Pro Tools is best just because it's "Industry Standard".
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Nothing wrong with Cubase, although personally I prefer Pro Tools.

There's bound to be comparison videos on Youtube, I would suggest checking them out.

And as far as what version goes, that entirely depends on what you want to use it for. I started with a Presonus Audiobox 2x2 (which I still use) which came with a copy of Cubase LE4, which is a stripped down version. This cost around £120, and lasted me for about three years before I really needed something better. But that said, the LE versions may be enough for what you want.

I have no idea if they do upgrade pricing, like if you bought LE and then decided a year down the line you want the full version I am not sure if they charge you full price for it or you get a discounted upgrade cost or something.
Hey. You can get a trial version of the latest Cubase software. And i am fairly certain you can get PT10/11 as a trial (you MIGHT need an iLok for that - but you should get an iLok at somepoint anyway when you start buying plugins).

As random3 says there is sure to be comparison videos.