Sorry, this may be a confusing issue, but let me explain:

I have a long drive to and from work, and lately I've been using that time to practice singing. I've been playing guitar for over 2 years, my ears coming along, and I can hear when the notes I'm singing sound right or wrong, but only relative to one another.

So, for example, this morning I sang "Blue Monday" and it sounded pretty good in terms of hitting the right notes. But without any instrument or way to check my tuning, I'd bet I was not singing it in key.

It's sort of like if you tune a guitar so all the strings are in tune to each other, but you do not first tune the low E to anything external...the entire guitar could be out of tune to any other instrument, but it'll be in tune to itself.

Anyway, my thinking has been that even if I'm singing these songs out of key, the fact that I'm learning to modulate my voice relative to itself, and move the right interval between notes, still helps even if I'm out of key. Ultimately, when I sing with instruments or with others, I'm thinking I'll be able to use my "relative" skills to dive in and sing in the right key that the instruments are playing.

But then I had this nagging doubt....like they say when you practice something "wrong" you are teaching yourself to do it wrong later. Is singing something acapella in the wrong key a form of "wrong" practice that will bite me later, or not?

Ken
Bernie Sanders for President!
Hi krm27 - I'd say any practice is going to help. If it sounds to you like you're in tune with the recording (and you're not completely tone-deaf) then you're probably doing well, but of course it's difficult to say for sure without hearing a sample.