So I've been playing mostly my resonator for the past 6 months or so. The string gauge is not massive but pretty typical for that guitar (13-56). In the last few days I've started noodling around with my strat again, which is strung with a 9-42 set. The strings felt like noodles! So I changed them for a 10-52 set (which is what I have on my other electric, an LTD). But the nut grooves for the low E and A strings are cut a little small, so neither strings actually fully sit inside the grooves, they just sort of partly sit on the top corners of the groove.

I'm wondering if I should loosen the strings, move them slightly aside, and slightly file the groove to enlarge them enough so the strings fully sit inside. Should I? Or it doesn't matter?
Agh. Really? Why not file away? Seems like it'd be easier and more efficient to file the grooves instead of changing the whole nut, no?

I guess I could get a bone one...
Yes. It ain't that difficult, and it's no big deal if you wreck the nut. But you do need to find the right size files. What I have found effective and cheap for the heavier strings is a set of oxy-acetylene jet cleaners. These are cheap little round files that are about the right sizes. They don't have enough bite for serious slot cutting but they are fine for minor alterations.

What I suggest you do is paint the inside of the nut slot and use this as a guide to how much you are taking off. - You don't want to accidentally make the slot any deeper.
Do they pop out of the nut or buzz? I wouldn't file anything unless you really knew what you were doing, but if you do take it to a shop let them file it and not put a new nut on.
I have a set of small files I bought because I'm planning on ordering a biscuit for my resonator and set it up the way I want. That should work... thanks.
Quote by Spud Spudly