Page 1 of 2
I've been playing for over 5 years and I haven't learned to shred yet. It's pissing me off, I MUST SHRED ! But I think I've finally realized the problem. I've never actually learned any shred solos to practice. I spent all this time learning scales and exercises and shit.

So my question to you is:

What songs have good "beginner shred" solos that are not too fast but still shredalicious and full of tasty licks?

Particularly in the thrash and classic metal genre please. Megadeth? Dio? Metallica? Iron Maiden?
symphony of destruction solo isn't that hard, and it's nice alternate/economy picking exercise. Also, The four horsemen's second solo isn't hard, but cool, Marty's solos in Holy wars. Try Jeff's solo (band Nevermore) from song "The river dragon has come", it's realy interesting diminished thing (for economy and sweeping), also, from nevermore, song
"I voyager" has nice not-so-fast sweep picking involved. These solos helped me a lot in technique developing, and put me on a wright track after a months of scales and shapes practicing.
P.S: don't use word "shred", it pisses a lot of people off around here
Can you play any solos at all?
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by kimi_page
symphony of destruction solo isn't that hard, and it's nice alternate/economy picking exercise. Also, The four horsemen's second solo isn't hard, but cool, Marty's solos in Holy wars. Try Jeff's solo (band Nevermore) from song "The river dragon has come", it's realy interesting diminished thing (for economy and sweeping), also, from nevermore, song
"I voyager" has nice not-so-fast sweep picking involved. These solos helped me a lot in technique developing, and put me on a wright track after a months of scales and shapes practicing.