I'm getting the itch for a Les Paul, and it will probably take a while to save the money.

I won't have the money for much more than the Studio Pro models, and I want real Gibson. I also like the pronounced horizontal grain pattern in the maple tops. It almost looks like tiger stripes on some of the custom models.

Is that finish only available on the more expensive custom models, or can it be found on LP's in the $1000 to $1500 price range?

If I can't find that finish, that's not the end of the world, as my first concern is the sound and playability of the guitar.
I know its not a real Gibson, but you should be able to get exactly what you want aesthetically by purchasing a Carvin...and the tones will be similar, too. In either a 22 or 24 fret design. Probably better made, too.

www.carvinguitars.com/catalog/guitars/cs6

www.carvinguitars.com/catalog/guitars/cs624
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Apr 27, 2014,
It's actually not the grain of the wood which gives it that effect at all. The grain always goes down the length of the guitar, but it's the figuring of the wood which gives the horizontal stripes effect.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
I think what your looking for is a flamed maple top. Normally only the more expensive Gibsons have it but the new studio deluxe has a flamed top for around $1300.