Hi all. I've been playing the guitar for quite a few years but just now trying to nail down a decent theory foundation.

Right now just learning the basics - major/minor scales, intervals, arpeggios, and chord structure.

My question is - should I be trying to learn all of this whilst learning the note names, or just learn the patterns and then the corresponding notes later? I'm ok at identifying notes in the first 12 frets by themselves, but when I'm playing a certain scale, interval, or arpeggio I can't quickly identify a certain degree or note within by name.

Should I be trying to know, for example, when trying to do/learn/memorize diminished arpegios in a given position that the diminished 5th is a certain note, or where it is in the pattern, or both?

I ask because as I go through these it is very slow going, having to go back to the root note (mostly when playing the second octaves) and figuring out the intervals from the root. I strictly use the interval patterns for this, completely ignoring what actual note the is that needs to be played. At that point the only actual note I'm cognizant of is the root.

Does this make sense? I want to make sure I'm not missing a major step in learning this stuff. While I'd think to learn the patterns and the notes in each (given whatever key I'm in) come later, some of these patterns aren't sticking to where I can just roll through then in multiple positions...I have to continue to stop and think about where the next interval is. I've got the major and minors down ok but others are taking awhile. Seems like a ton of patterns to memorize to be proficient. Just practice more, right? Ha!
Technically, yeah you should learn the notes and where theyre all located first. Then learn the scales. But its going to take a long time either way so have the patience and it will pay off.