I have been using Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 for about two years for home recording into my computer. I recently got M-Audio M-Track Quad to replace it, as I read the M-Audio is better for guitar recording and it came with free Pro Tools Express that I was curious to try out.

I'm now debating whether I should sell my Focusrite on Craiglist or Ebay or whatever, but then I started wondering...do people who get into audio recording seriously ever find a way to use two interfaces? Like the Focusrite is two input and the M-Audio is 4 input...is there some way to "side-chain" them so to speak and get 6 track input? Or maybe to set up the FocusRite for MIDI controller or microphone, and the M-Audio as dedicated for instruments. I guess I'd have to switch the device selection on my DAW every time I wanted to change interface, so maybe it would be too cumbersome... At that point may make more sense just to get one interface with more channels (Sorry, thinking out loud.)

Well, I guess the issue is that I just don't know what I don't know, so I am wondering if there is any good reason to have two interfaces that might outweigh making a quick $100 or whatever by selling my Focusrite.

Ken
Bernie Sanders for President!
Quote by krm27
I have been using Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 for about two years for home recording into my computer. I recently got M-Audio M-Track Quad to replace it, as I read the M-Audio is better for guitar recording and it came with free Pro Tools Express that I was curious to try out.