I'm basically a new guitarist...been playing abt 2-3 months. I find it so hard to pick up on the strumming in songs....can anyone please give me some feedback and advice on this.

I'm learning Brantley gilbert bottoms up and for the life of me I can not get what I'm hearing. This is probably so simple and I can not pick it up. Lol
go to justinguitar.com and start practicing his strumming lessons. after learning a few different strumming patterns, it'll be much easier to hear what the patterns are in the song. i find that when in a bind, the basic D D U D D U will work with most songs.
need more gear and a lot more talent(courtesytuxs)
I relate to this. Most of the good people on you tube, focus on chords and not strumming... I can easly find what Bm, a F or C are on google, but I can't learn how to strum there, even if I look at page 393045304 of the results.

I wish they would focus more on the rhythm and less on the chords.
Set yourself up for a straight hour or so of practice on it I'll bet you'll get it. It's all about being loose and after an hour it'll become mundane and you'll have no choice but to be loose.

Also are you keeping your hand constantly in an up down motion and skipping the strings on the offbeats or are you trying to stop and start with the song?
Quote by ddaugherty27
I'm basically a new guitarist...been playing abt 2-3 months. I find it so hard to pick up on the strumming in songs....can anyone please give me some feedback and advice on this.

I'm learning Brantley gilbert bottoms up and for the life of me I can not get what I'm hearing. This is probably so simple and I can not pick it up. Lol
Well Junior, I give you props for being eager and self confident. But, the truth is, the internet doesn't make perfect, practice does.

Three months isn't very much time in the life of a budding guitarist.