I have been playing the guitar now for about 6 months. I'm still learning loads of songs aswell as getting what I know already to a good level. I am wondering if maybe I should try and learn music theory too, would this help my playing? or would it allow me to write some of my own music? it's more to help my playing at this point but down the line I would like to write some of my own music. Can anyone advise on this?
Music theory will do nothing but help you, as long as you understand that it isn't a set of rules, it just describes what is happening.

Go to musictheory.net and start looking through the lessons.

When you're learning theory, make sure you know the sound that the theory your learning is describing. When you know what makes a major scale a major scale you should hear a major scale in your head, know what it sounds like, instead of knowing what it looks like on paper or the shape it makes on the fretboard. (I wish I knew that when I was starting out. It seems obvious now, but what can you do?)

If you want to write music later on, you should also start learning about common song structures. Verse, chorus, bridge, ect. Wikipedia has some stuff on that, and so does the rest of the internet. Then, and this is key, listen to a song you like and try to hear which part is the verse and which is the chorus? How did they transition between the two? How long was the verse? Four bars, eight bars? Stuff like that. Eventually you'll see a lot of music is divided up into four and eight bar phrases.
Last edited by Duaneclapdrix at Apr 29, 2014,
Wow, a very helpful response in a short space of time! I shall definitely start learning it! Thanks for your help!
I will second Duane and say it definitely helps a lot knowing theory even if it's just the basics but don't get bent out of shape if your writing has parts that "break the rules" if it sounds good then write it
Quote by drgoogs32