Hey everyone.
I've been playing guitar consistently for nearly 20 years now. god I'm almost old. Anyway...

I've recently became re-productive with playing and writing music. For a lot of my late teens and early 20's I was active. I then slowed thighs down due to a few different things (while kept playing) and have gotten back into the swing of it.

I must say I've always been a bit frustrated with building solos and stuff - since I'm mostly into 'radion' rock stuff as well as that cool 1970's FM radio sound, aka Neil Young. Artists I quite like are oasis, nirvana, matchbox 20, Neil young, Dashboard Confessional and stuff .

When I watch videos and stuff online of soloing, they often feel like they don't fall into my style. Am I being narrow minded, missing something or something else?

I get that blues (and jazz) are a foundational stone to music.
I'm a little confused at your question. Are you asking what soloing techniques would work for radio rock type stuff?

Speaking from no experience and purely observation, I think a lot of the soloing in radio rock is just bluesy rock stuff. Ya know, minor pentatonic licks with distortion, etc.
Relax. You're not doing anything wrong. Anyone can play solos, but not everyone wants to, and there's nothing wrong with that. If Malcolm Young wanted to become a soloist, we wouldn't have AC/DC now, would we? With that said, if you want to get into solos or leads, go for it.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Thanks for your input everyone. I really appreciate it.

I guess a large part of the frustration is how to build solos, like the ones Noel Gallagher would write (for example) or a solo that would slip perfectly into an Everclear song or The Frey.