I'll be up front and say I'm a complete newbie when it comes to all of this stuff. I honestly have no clue how to set any of this up. From what I read/saw online all I needed was a program like Ableton and something like Amplitube and it would work fine. But it's much much more complicated. I'm running windows 7. I'm simply trying to hear myself play guitar through my laptop. Is the problem that I need to use separate speakers or what?

Basically, when I plug in my guitar to the Scarlett I get feedback on the gain knob (flickering green light). When I open up Amplitube as well and strum my guitar there is definitely some audio response as I see the levels moving up and down within Amplitube. Problem is, I cannot hear anything period.

I have set my recording and playback devices both to the Scarlett. I also installed ASIO4ALL drivers, but when I try to switch the driver to ASIO in Amplitube no devices will show up. Ableton Live doesn't even detect ASIO when I try and switch drivers.

Bah, this is so complicated I have no clue how to do any of this stuff.
Last edited by wheelz1045 at Apr 29, 2014,
Quote by BL1NDSIDE-J
Maybe read the instruction booklets for both the interface and abelton?

I have already.

Okay, so the issue I'm running into is that I apparently can't hear anything WHILE I'm playing. I can hear my recordings through Ableton only AFTER I have unplugged the Scarlett and switched the output device on Ableton to my normal laptop speakers. After doing all of that I can listen to my recordings just fine. But how can I play and actually hear my guitar instead of having to go through multiple steps changing my input/output? I'm obviously not doing something right.
There should be something like a 'monitor recording' button on the tracks so you can hear yourself in real time.
You say Saffire in the heading, but refer to the unit as Scarlett, so I'm going to assume its the Scarlett 2i4.