Being a rocker, I like my guitars HUGE and I always hear about panning one track hard left and the other hard right. However, I then got talking to a serious home recording guy at a pub gig and he was saying that that won't make the guitars sound fuller (which was the problem I was having - no matter hos many tracks I laid down). Anyway, I never understood because I though the whole point of multiple tracks of the same instrument is the clapping effect - where one person clapping isn't loud but 50 is very loud. I'm not looking for indepth mixing advice as I am a rank newb but just an explanation and pointing in the right direction so as to improve the guitars in the mix.

Also, if I am recording over an existing backing track (some with vocals) and I don't have the opportunity to mix all the tracks together, where do I place my guitar? Where do I find space? I;m drawn to leave it down the middle but that's usually where the vocals sit.

FYI, I'm just looking at doing some You Tube video covers.
Panning stuff left and right works!
But not always.
If, for example you recorded something once, then you duplicated, you panned one track left and one track right, you'd get a raise in the volume of the original track - 0 to 6db depending on the settings of your DAW, have a look at pan's law if you wanna know more.

If you record the same thing twice and (hard or light, but ideally hard) pan one take left and one take right, the thing WILL sound fuller.
And I'm talking about seriously fuller stuff.

The clap effect you're talking about makes sense too, but only if you refer to 50 different people, or 50 different takes of the same person:
if you record something, duplicate it and pan it left and right you'll get a raise in volume, but if you record stuff that's not exactly the same, you'll get a "bigger" sound.