I am brand new to playing guitar and 42 years old, a little late I know. Anyway I attempted to learn about 6 years ago when I had a middle of the road EPI and a line 6 spider amp. I recently came across a great deal and bought a 09 Gibson Les Paul Studio along with a Fender mustang iii v.2. LOVE THIS GUITAR! I know very little about playing but am eager to learn. I can play the riff to talk dirty to me(poison), and a couple metallica riffs. Love the sound of that era, especially Slash tone. I was thinking about getting the line 6 spider jam, but I hear so much negativity about line 6. The reason I am thinking about this amp is because I can get the sounds of so many recognizable artist and I thought this would help keep me motivated in learning. It would at least sound like I knew what I was doing. I also have heard a lot of negative feedback about the new marshalls. I would love to get something under $500. The more under, the better! Any reccomendations? And are the reviews and ratings for guitar amps on this site pretty spot on? I am nowhere near gigging yet and I live in a townhome so I do not need super loud. Thank you all in advance!
You may have a look at the peavey vypyr tube 60, it's still a modeling amp so you'd have a wide array of sounds and effects.
If you want something a bit more straight forward, the marshall dsl401 looks like it could do.

I think you can pretty easily get the one or the other for less than $500.

Though since you're just starting out, to get a better idea of the sounds you can get from different amps, I'd just walk into a guitar store or whatever big store with a lot of guitar amps, and I'd try as much as I can.
Than when you find something you particularly like you can wither buy it right away or look for cheaper and similar sounding stuff.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy